Ira’s Cathedral

Ira's Cathedral - Jerome Covington

Ira’s Cathedral, by Jerome Covington. Available on, and iTunes. It is also available on Spotify.

This suite is a meditation on my understanding of my paternal Grandfather, whom I have not met in this life. However, it was conveyed to me through my Father that my Grandfather felt such peace from the natural world, that it was akin to his church. This sentiment resonates with me, and I hope it resonates with you through this music. Enjoy listening.

* All composed and performed by Jerome Covington
* Engineered and produced by Brian Boyle.
* Recorded at The Buddy Project in Astoria, Queens.

All Good Places Meet Here

Jerome Covington - All Good Places Meet Here

All Good Places Meet Here, by Jerome Covington. Available on, Google Play, iTunes, and elsewhere.

Flagstaff, AZ
1. North
2. East
3. South
4. West

Denton, TX
1. Faith
2. Hope
3. Love

The Kathmandu Valley
1. Imagination, Reincarnation
2. Sunrise Over Pokhara
3. Mountain Interlude
4. We Were, We Are

Bonus Track: The Harlem Meer

* All composed and performed by Jerome Covington
* Engineered and produced by Brian Boyle.
* Recorded at The Nut House, in Brooklyn, NY.
* Visual design by Adwen Creative
* Dedicated to William Wallace Covington. Happy Birthday, Dad.
* Thanks to Dan Eberle for the inspiration for the bass line for “Denton, TX – 3. Love”.
* Thanks to Paul and Rachel Nadjarian for the use of their piano in Winter of 2013.
* “Mountain Interlude” first appeared as the intro to “South Mountain Mentality” on Living the Life by The Great Escape.
* “We Were, We Are” was first performed by The Great Escape on Living the Life as “Who We Were”.

All Good Places Meet Here is my tribute to several locales across planet Earth that have made my life better.

Flagstaff, AZ is my birth town and is a place that I carry around inside. From its pristine forests to it’s flowing mountain streams to its inspiring Native peoples and the friends that I made there that I will forever be bound to, my life wouldn’t have been the same without this special place.

The university in Denton, TX was my paternal Grandmother’s as well as my Mother’s and Father’s alma mater and was the place I learned the most about the Jazz Language from such inspiring teachers as Fred Hamilton, Dan Haerle, Ed Soph and Terry Hankins. It was also, for me, the site of some life changing spiritual and “metaphysical” revelations that forever altered my perceptions of the world, for the better.

The Kathmandu Valley is an area that I have had the honor of visiting several times in my life due to the influence of one very special person in my life. I feel blessed to have been made so welcome there on several occasions. The people, city and countryside truly are a precious gift to this world and I hope to spend many more beautiful moments there.

I hope this music conveys the amazement and good fortune I feel at having been touched by these special places, and gives you the opportunity to reflect on the places in your life that have enriched your journey on Earth.


Strategies by Jerome Covington

I like the idea of thinking about music as “systems for learning and adaptation”. I think of the songs I write and record as tools for my “future self” to reconnect to my “current self” and work through future emotions. The new album “Strategies” (or “Strategies for Being”), is a collection of songs that, to me, act as encoded strategies for working through the problems of life, and staying grounded in the present.

I hope that these songs find you well in your life, and that there is a tool or two here for you to add to your tool-belt.

Take a moment to listen to the samples on iTunes, Amazon and other digital stores. And please go ahead and purchase the album there if you would like to add your support to this project.

Shadows of the Fall

Shadows of the Fall, by Jerome Covington

As the final installment of 2012’s multi-album work, “The Year in Sound and Magic”, “Shadows of the Fall” brings the 3-part work to a shimmering, effervescent close. While there are still moments of dissonance and tension here, the overall mood is one of peaceful resolution: we have been through the dark times of “Animism in the Digital Age” and traversed the stygian, twisting passageways of “Runic Telemetry”. Now the shadows of Autumn take on an iridescent glow in the splendid light of the harvest moon.

Take a moment to listen to the samples on iTunes, Amazon and other digital stores. And please go ahead and purchase the album there if you would like to add your support to this project.

Runic Telemetry

Runic Telemetry by Jerome Covington

Using source material from the same 2011 recording sessions that gave birth to “Animism in the Digital Age”, “Runic Telemetry” continues down a similar—sometimes luminous, sometimes stygian—path as its predecessor. The very real phenomenon of Quantum Listening, that we alter the very state of what we hear by the manner in which we hear it, is further explored here. This theme will resonate with all those who believe that in order to truly understand life, we must listen to our fullest capacity in all moments.

Take a moment to listen to the samples on iTunes, Amazon, eMusic and other digital outlets. And please go ahead and purchase the album there if you would like to add your support to this project.

Animism in the Digital Age

Animism in the Digital Age by Jerome Covington

“Animism in the Digital Age” is an attempt at resolving the trajectory that we as a species are on, as technology becomes more and more central to our lives, with the very real need to consider our interactions with animals as a primary influencer in our evolutionary consciousness.

The source material comes from a long night of recording in the Fall of 2011. This raw material was then subjected to an improvised, though disciplined, process, and further editing. The eventual goal is to complete this process with the remaining recordings, releasing short form EPs until a unified full length is ready for release in Winter 2012.

Available at iTunes, Amazon, eMusic and other digital outlets.

Cirpica by Jerome Covington

Cirpica by Jerome Covington

Released the day after the 2011 Winter Solstice, Cirpica takes a cue from the process-oriented minimalism of the mid 1970s. The three extended movements are frosty, dramatic and emotional. Think of them as the soundtrack to a book that hasn’t been written yet, but that you will surely want to curl up with in the deep, dark Winter. Sample the music and purchase the album at iTunes, eMusic or Amazon.

The Eternal City by Jerome Covington

The Eternal City by Jerome CovingtonWith source material that was recorded as far back as 2002, The Eternal City went through relentless editing and reworking until it was finally released in 2010. Jerome’s electronica, ambient and minimalist influences really shine here, along with the signature beautiful, soaring, yet deceptively simple guitar melodies. Visit ituneseMusic or Amazon to sample and download tracks or the full album.

Butterflies by Laszlo

Laszlo has been the ongoing project featuring Jerome’s writing for several talented female lead vocalists. This first release from the band notably showcased Norah Jones’ singing before her breakthrough solo success. Originally released in 1999, Butterflies was later re-mastered by Mike Davis and re-released with new artwork by Melanie Gomez. Please visit itunes or Amazon to hear samples and download.